Community News

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 4 states have been added to and 2 territories removed from the Travel Advisory for COVID-19 for a total of 35 states and territories covering more than half the nation.

As COVID-19 transmission has reached a very low level in New York, vigilance must be maintained to ensure that New York does not see a surge from states with increasing community transmission of COVID-19.  Based upon Governor Cuomo’s update today, September 8, 2020, 4 states have been added (Delaware, Maryland, Ohio, and West Virginia) and 2 territories have been removed (Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands) making the current list 35 states and territories (covering more than half the nation). The following states and territories still meet the criteria for required quarantine:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Indiana
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

This is based upon a seven-day rolling average, of positive tests in excess of 10%, or number of positive cases exceeding 10 per 100,000 residents.  If you have traveled from within one of the designated states with significant community spread as defined by the metrics above, you must quarantine when you enter New York for 14 days from the last travel within such designated state. The requirements of the travel advisory do not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration (i.e., less than 24 hours) through the course of travel. Examples of such brief passage include but are not limited to: stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or lay-overs for air travel, bus travel, or train travel.  Airports being monitored for travelers from these states and territories include: Rochester, Niagara Falls, Elmira, Ogdensburg, Plattsburgh, JFK, LaGuardia, Albany, Hancock (Syracuse), Stewart (Newburgh) and Buffalo-Niagara and MacArthur (Islip).

The travel advisory requires all New Yorkers, as well as those visiting from out of state, to take personal responsibility for complying with the advisory in the best interest of public health and safety by calling the Allegany County Department of Health at (585)268-9250 to receive quarantine guidance and paperwork. To file a report of an individual failing to adhere to the quarantine pursuant to the travel advisory, please call 1-833-789-0470 or visit this website: Individuals may also contact the Allegany County Department of Health. Please call the Allegany County Department of Health at (585)268-9250 to determine essential worker guidelines, or with any other questions you may have, or go to

09 08 20 ACDOH COVID Travel Press Release 09 8 20