Community News

New Executive Order Mandates Quarantine for Travel from 16 States

As COVID-19 transmission has reached a very low level in New York, vigilance must be maintained to ensure that New York does not see a surge from states with increasing community transmission of COVID-19. Based upon Governor Cuomo’s Executive Order 205, issued June 25, 2020, the following states now meet the criteria for required quarantine:

Alabama         Arkansas          Arizona                California    Florida                  Georgia          Iowa          Idaho

Louisiana       Mississippi       North Carolina     Nevada        South Carolina      Tennessee      Texas        Utah

This is based upon a seven day rolling average, of positive tests in excess of 10 percent, or number of positive cases exceeding 10 per 100,000 residents.  The travel advisory went into effect at 12:01 a.m. on Thursday, June 25, 2020. If you have traveled from within one of the designated states with significant community spread as defined by the metrics above, you must quarantine when you enter New York for 14 days from the last travel within such designated state.

The requirements of the travel advisory do not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration (i.e., less than 24 hours) through the course of travel. Examples of such brief passage include but are not limited to: stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or lay-overs for air travel, bus travel, or train travel.

The travel advisory requires all New Yorkers, as well as those visiting from out of state, to take personal responsibility for complying with the advisory in the best interest of public health and safety by calling the Allegany County Department of Health at (585)268-9250 to receive quarantine guidance and paperwork. To file a report of an individual failing to adhere to the quarantine pursuant to the travel advisory, please call 1-833-789-0470 or visit this website: Individuals may also contact the Allegany County Department of Health.

Essential workers and their employers are expected to comply with previously issued DOH guidance regarding return to work after a suspected or confirmed case of COVID-19 or after the employee had close or proximate contact with a person with COVID-19. Additionally, this guidance may be superseded by more specific industry guidance for a particular industry (e.g., for a nursing home worker, a negative test PCR test will be required before return to work). Consult with your employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance that may apply to you. If you are returning from travel to a designated state, and if such travel was for longer than the limited duration outlined above, you are required to quarantine for 14 days, unless you are an essential worker.  Please call the Allegany County Department of Health at (585)268-9250 to determine essential worker guidelines, or with any other questions you may have, or go to

06 30 20 Health Dir Ballengee COVID Travel Press Release 06.30.20